Colloquium Spring 2017

Visiting Artist Colloquium Spring 2017

L160 Conrad A. Elvehjem Building (old wing, Chazen Museum)
800 University Ave, Madison WI
Wednesdays, 4:30 – 5:45 pm, Free & open to the public

January 25Jason Yi
February 1 – Brian Kluge
February 8 – Simone and Max from the Arts + Literature Labratory
February 15Evan Gruzis
February 22Ryan Hartley Smith
March 1 – Peter Krsko
March 8Will Pergl, Keith Nelson, Mark Klassen
March 15Aram Han Sifuentes
March 29 – Douglas Rieger
April 5Lori Talcott
April 12 – MFA Candidates
April 19 – Erika Nordqvist

Visiting Artists

Formed in 1966, our Visiting Artist/Critic Program is the first and oldest continuously running program of its kind in the nation. For over 40 years, we have attracted some the nation’s most prominent artists, critics, and gallery and museum directors.

The program plays a vital role in the department by exposing young artists to the latest developments in fine art, craft and design. Over its history, our Visiting Artist Program has proven to have a wide appeal, reaching out to and drawing attention from the broader University community and the City of Madison as a whole. During their visit to the University of Wisconsin-Madison, these artists, critics and curators conduct seminars, workshops, in-class presentations, or individual and group critiques in addition to a public lecture. Over the years, guest artists and critics have included such central figures in contemporary art as:

Keith Achepohl, Stephan Antonakos, Richard Anuszkiewicz, Robert Arneson, Richard Artschwager,  Jack Beal, Lynda Benglis, Aaron Bohrod,  John Chamberlain, Dale Chihuly,  Sam Gilliam, Red Grooms, Jane Hammond, Al Held, Robert Irwin, Alex Katz, Donald Kuspit, Alfred Leslie, Kalup Linzy, Linda Montano, Malcolm Morley, Bruce Nauman, Alice Neel, Jim Nutt, Philip Pearlstein, Peter Plagens, Martin Puryear, Mel Ramos, Milton Resnik, James Rosenquist, Lucas Samaras, Peter Saul, Italo Scanga, Arthur Schade, Fritz Schölder, Hollis Sigler, Pat Steir, Do-Ho Suh, Wayne Thiebaud, William Wegman, and William Wiley.

View the UW-Madison Art Department Visiting Artist/Critic Program History for a complete listing of past visiting artists/critics.