Five individuals with ties to the UW–Madison School of Education have been named to the sixth cohort of Morgridge Fellows. They are:

  • Angela Johnson, lecturer, Art Department
  • Courtney Parker-West, PhD student, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis
  • Diego Román, assistant professor of bilingual/bicultural education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
  • LaShandra Harbin, PhD student, Department of Educational Policy Studies
  • May Ramírez, PhD student, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis

The fellows were selected through a juried process to participate in the year-long learning community designed to further institutionalize and support Community-Engaged Scholarship.

Community-Engaged Scholarship is defined as: teaching, research, and scholarly activities that are performed in equitable, mutually beneficial collaboration with communities to fulfill campus and community objectives. The program is led by Morgridge Center staff Haley Madden and Cory Sprinkel and guest speakers from campus and community perspectives.

“This year we will be welcoming our largest Morgridge Fellows cohort with 16 folks joining us from across campus! We’re thrilled to be working with such a diverse group of scholars and community engagement professionals,” says Sprinkel. “As we all think about celebrating the university’s 175th, I’m inspired by the possibilities and passions at play amongst our cohort that emphasize the goals and aspirations of the Wisconsin Idea.”